Electronic Portfolio Reflection

I’d have to admit, doing this E-portfolio was the most time consuming thing I’ve done this whole summer term. That’s saying a lot considering it was a few nights that I had over 90 problem to do for my math class the next day. When we first got the syllabus, I thought that it would be so much easier than what it actually was. I was definitely wrong about that. In the beginning of the term I would look at other student’s portfolios to get an idea of what I wanted to do with mine.

Originally, I thought that when I made the WordPress website for the democracy and civic engagement paper that I was done with it. Obviously I was wrong. I didn’t know that I would have to put all or majority of my works from this summer semester onto the site but I guess that’s what I should’ve thought of when I read e-portfolio. By editing my papers over the course of the semester, it made it a lot easier when I had to just upload it to my WordPress. At least that’s what I thought.

The day that we were supposed to work on the electronic portfolio, Kingsley couldn’t figure out how to work my theme so I had to wait about twenty minutes while he helped the rest of the class work on theirs who had a theme that was easier to work with. We then figured out that we had to use the customize bar to add my post. At first I had added it to pages but that was a big mistake because it made even more unorganized than I wanted it to be. I then figured out that I had to place it under post which made it easier. The main thing with the electronic portfolio was playing around with it to figure out how things worked. That was the case for me when it came to posting my writings because I thought that I had to delete the post that I already had in order for it to work properly but that wasn’t the case.

The most fun part to me in this whole assignment was probably choosing what images I wanted to use for my pieces. Although it was really time consuming, I really liked doing it. My favorite piece that I wrote for this term would have to be the personal essay with research paper that we just wrote for the simple fact that it hit close to home. I also liked it because I found music from one of my favorite rappers, J.Cole that fit my paper and it added a lot of depth to it. I really liked this project in the end and I know that it’s going to be very beneficial to me in the fall when I look like a professional at doing e-portfolio’s in my English 125 class.

Leave a comment